i did a thing!

Guys, I did something and it’s something really cool that I get to tick off my bucket list! I didn’t do anything SUPER cool, just forewarning, like throw a coin in the Trevi Fountain and make a wish (even if I don’t believe that it would actually come true) or ride a hot air balloon, but it’s something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time and just never had the guts to do.

I..

10358133_10202214276418673_4600344609359840963_n

I colored my hair purple! Yes, all over my entire head (and I’m not sure if my mother knows or not but she’s going to be…. well… she’ll have a reaction, that’s for sure) and when I say purple, I mean purple. Yes, there is an instagram filter on the before/after picture above, but it is because when I try to take a picture of my hair it comes out looking kind of black and not as purple as it really is.

I decided that, well, it’s summer and I don’t have any obligations that would need me to keep my hair a normal color, so why not go for something a bit crazy, right? I skipped on over to my local Sally’s Beauty Supply and picked up a 4 oz. tub of Manic Panic’s Purple Haze semi-permanent hair dye. Manic Panic is great because it’s vegan, unlike most hair dyes, and they contain conditioners which, at least with my hair, leaves it even softer and healthier-feeling than before you put the dye in!

img-thing

10417581_10202213992771582_5591359215027873023_n

I applied it straight to my hair without bleaching, which was okay with me as I am always weary of bleaching my hair and have only done it a couple of times when putting streaks of bright color in my hair. It makes the color a little darker, but it’s definitely still vibrant and purple! I kept the dye in for around forty minutes, but if you’re going for purple, you can leave it in as long or short as you like to get your desired color. Some people leave it on for hours, and some for only around 20 minutes. It’s all about preference.

I’ll be very honest with you, people tell you to use cold water when washing out vibrant hair dye, but I didn’t. I’m a wimp and I can’t take the cold, even if it is just for a few minutes while I’m washing my hair out. It’s supposed to lock in color and keep it from fading, but I didn’t do it and now I guess I’m paying the price because I woke up with purple on my white pillowcase this morning. Oh, well. It adds character, I tell ya!

If any of you are debating on whether or not to go colorful this season, my advice is DO IT! Hair is hair! We cut it, dye it and style it anyway, what does it really matter what the color becomes? Summer is summer, a time for change and metamorphosis!

10330313_10202222793311590_5806263055358584413_n

Speaking of summer changes, my friend and I decided to make a summer adventure to-do list (because isn’t that always my way?) and I’ll probably be sharing it with you soon!

Adios, my friends, and I’ll talk to you soon!

xoxo, taylor


 

P.S. I’ve had people asking me where my necklace was from! It’s hand-stamped aluminium with a quote from Fall Out Boy’s Carpal Tunnel of Love, purchased from the ‘folie à sneux’ etsy shop (click the picture to go there)!

click me, i'm a link!

click me, i’m a link!

One thought on “i did a thing!

  1. I’ve been wanting to dye my hair pink but seeing as how I have an olive skin tone, I’m not sure how it would look but I’ll probably still do it, just not yet.

Leave a Reply

