it’s happening: ipsy #1

It’s happening, it’s happening! Okay, this is it, everyone calm down! My very first ipsy bag arrived the other day!!! Also, to my fellow United States-ers, Happy President’s Day. Little known fact: I have the biggest crush on Babe Lincoln, and this holiday is kind of a countrywide celebration of his birthday (February 12) and Washington’s birthday (February 22), as well as a celebration of our Presidents in general. You know, the only thing we really do for President’s Day is stop the mail and close the banks, which is very inconvenient for me, but I’m sure a nice break for the mail and bank staff. I’m sure Obama has the day off as well, which must be nice for him. He’s a cool cat.

But PD aside, we are here for a purpose: the unveiling of my very first ipsy bag!! How exciting! It came in an eye-catching hot pink padded envelope and it was quite a delight to see in my mailbox! The actual bag inside was a lovely pink as well, with cheetah print lining!

ImageImage

Everything was packaged so nicely, and we all know that I am a giant sucker for nice packaging! I was quite surprised to find four full-sized products and one trial sized due to the fact that with Birchbox it was all trial-sized, all the time. I must admit, this was a welcome change! As you can see, I got quite a few products! Definitely worth it, if I do say so myself. Now, I won’t give you a complete review of these products because I plan on doing a review along with the next bag opening, but I’ll share a little bit about what I’ve used so far!

Image

Be Matte Blush – Fresh Melon (retail: $3.99)

Now, as you can see, this blush normally doesn’t retail for very much, but it works quite well from what I can tell! I did a swatch on my hand (don’t mind the weirdness of my skin, please) and it was smooth, pigmented and the color looked nice, even on my translucent skin. Okay, I’m not translucent, but I AM pretty pale! The packaging is cute, simplistic and easy to open, so that’s definitely good too!

Image

Mally Evercolor Starlight Waterproof Eyeliner in ‘Starshine’ (retail: $15)

This is probably my favorite item that came in the bag! I did a swatch on my hand and it came out so smooth and creamy. It’s waterproof, so it didn’t come off if a bit of teary action happened, but it came right off with my eye makeup remover! It’s a gorgeous silver shade that I honestly wouldn’t be embarrassed to wear out in the day time. Not to mention this product is worth 150% of what the whole bag cost! Great deal!

Image

Zoya Nail Polish in ‘Odette’ (retail: $9.00)

Now, I’m a sucker for nail polish and I’m also a sucker for subscription boxes, therefore, you would think it would be fitting for me to go to a subscription box that gave me nail polish. Well, I’ve been there, done that and let me just tell you: It wasn’t worth it. I was part of the Julep Mavens for over a year and all it did was fill my nail jar with weird colors that were not worth the money. I mean, why pay $20/month for nail polishes that I don’t like when I can pay $10 and get a bag with a whole bunch of stuff, right? Anyway, I’m getting off topic. Firstly, I love this color. It’s a lovely mauve-like purple and it compliments my skin tone so well! I have an accent nail with Julep’s Shatter polish in ‘Glenda’ and it’s gorgeous! It was a little goopy, though, and it did take quite a while to dry, but so far those things are the only negatives! I can deal with the sheet marks on my nails, but we’ll see how long it takes before it chips. That’s the real test, let me tell you!

Image

POP Beauty Plump Pout in ‘Peony Petal’ (full-sized retail: $16)

This stuff is kind of just your basic colored gloss. Actually, it’s more like a liquid lipstick, as the color is pretty opaque. It didn’t really plump, though I’m not sure if that’s what it’s supposed to do or if that’s just the name of the product. Who knows these days? I got a pack of Fun Dip the other day and it called itself “Diddly Dip”. Well, let me just tell you, no one’s dip was diddled so it’s pretty misleading, you know? The color is a lovely rose color… Not necessarily the color of a peony petal, but whatever. The packaging is sleek, which is neat, but the black part of the tube smells kind of weird, a bit like skunk, but the gloss itself has a nice vanilla scent. I will use this throughout the month, but I’ll let you know if I’d buy it. Meh

Image

J. Cat Beauty Eyelashes + Eyelash Glue in ‘EL 66’ (retail: $3.99)

Okay, so the first thing that I saw on the package were the words “100% Human Hair” and I immediately was grossed out. I don’t like hair of any kind. It freaks me out when people leave loose hair around and in the shower and in random places and I DEFINITELY do not want to stick someone else’s hair on my eyelids. My lashes are long enough anyway, to the point where I cannot wear lengthening mascara for the fear of my lashes hitting my glasses. True story. But I’m 99% sure that I will never be using these. Maybe I’ll save them and include them in a giveaway down the road! Who knows! A lot of people out there like lashes, especially the 100% human hair ones, but I am not one of them. Kudos to you if you are! You are brave on a level that I know nothing of!

And that’s it! That’s the contents of my very first ipsy bag!! Isn’t this exciting?! I definitely recommend the bag to anyone who is on the fence about it! It was pretty much one of my best purchase decisions thus far! And it’s totally worth the money, let me tell you. I totalled up the worth of my bag and it came to a total of $47, which is nearly five TIMES what I actually paid for it.

I’ll be back soon with another post, but until then, follow me on Tumblr and Twitter, and definitely leave a comment below! If you’re an ipsy subscriber, tell me what you got in your bag (they’re all different, remember!) and if you’re not, tell me what you thought of this post, if you would like others of this kind, and let me know of some of your favorite products are!

xoxo!

Leave a Reply

