reflection and goal setting

Hello all of you, dear readers! I hope that you had a splendid holiday season and I hope that you will continue to have a fabulous new year!

Christmas has passed and soon so will the entirety of 2013, and I can’t really say that I’m sad to see it go. This has been an interesting year, full of ups and downs but most of all, it’s been full of growth and resolution. I started the year as a completely different person, and I’m happy with who I’ve become, but there is still room for improvement (*sigh* isn’t there always? Nothing’s ever really complete…).

It’s in these times of the end and new beginnings that I get slightly introspective. I look at all of the intricacies of my life and what has and could have been, and I take them for what they are. Missed chances are just chances that I may, one day, get to correct. I have learned about myself more this year than any other, and for that I am thankful.

Image

In the beginning of the year, I was a bit more naive. I believed that I could do anything if I just put my mind to it, and I still believe that but the only problem is that I didn’t put my mind to it. I have always been a constant procrastinator and one of my goals for next year (I refuse to call them resolutions because isn’t that just such a cliche?) is to be less of a procrastinator. But I’m not naive enough to think that my procrastination will totally stop because I hope it will. It’ll be hard, but hopefully not unachievable. And, on the plus side, I hopefully will post here more! Always a good thing, right?

Towards the end of February, I started a new romantic relationship. To make a long story short, that was a bust, but from that experience, I learned how to trust my instincts… At least a little bit anyway. I plan on trying to trust those instincts a little bit more over the course of next year, and I encourage all of you to do the same. If something feels off, it may very well be and you should take it upon yourself to address that. You wouldn’t be feeling that way if nothing at all was up, and best case scenario: nothing is wrong.

That relationship ended in September and since then, I’ve enjoyed being my own person. I’ve enjoyed my friendships and I’ve enjoyed the time to myself. It was a mental break after all of the mental disaster of the month before. I plan on still enjoying that independence and not pursuing anything, but I also wouldn’t mind if something happened to come up. I’m not going to plan on it or force it at all, though, as there’s no reason.

I don’t really know how well this post flows, nor do I particularly care (excuse the brashness of that sentence, but this entry is more for me, to remind myself of the life that I want to lead).

So, for an overview, my goals for 2014 are:

  • To not procrastinate so much.
  • Trust my instincts.
  • Enjoy my independence

And as a bonus:

  • Get healthy. My health isn’t much of a concern to me but I COULD stand to be a little healthier, so I want to eliminate sodas from my diet, lower the portion sizes and work out a couple of times a week. It’ll be worth it, even if it’ll be crappy to begin with.
Leave a Reply

