it’s beginning to look a lot like christmas

I don’t know what it is about this year, but I’m really excited for the holidays! The day after Halloween I started playing Christmas music (much to my friend’s dismay) and I honestly haven’t stopped. I just don’t know, but it makes me really happy! Anyway, since ’tis the season, after all, I figured that I would share the spirit with my lovely readers! I’m going to give you a few of my favorite Christmas Time things, which coincidentally also happen to be some of my favorite things in general! Might as well dive into it!

tumblr_mxedcnJRVp1rljwb9o1_500

Some of the best Christmas songs (because I can’t possibly just choose one) are the ones that really evoke happiness and holiday spirit. I’ll be honest with you- I don’t really know what holiday spirit means, but in my mind it’s a lot like cinnamon and pine needles. You probably think that I’m crazy, right? “Taylor… how can holiday spirit be spices and tree parts?” Well… I don’t know. But I chose those things because they are also things that make me feel all holiday-y (I used this made-up word because if I wrote “holiday spirit” one more time, it would probably start to slowly trickle out of me and I’d be the Grinch before next week) It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas, Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas, and Here We Come A-Wassailing (though I couldn’t find a good copy of that anywhere on YouTube) are all really great examples of what I’m talking about. They ooze Christmas, and not just because two out of three have the word in the title. They’re all really great and they get me in the spirit. Deck The Halls is also a great classic Christmas song that gets me in the, ugh, holiday spirit.

Okay, I just had to go and look up synonyms for “holiday spirit” because that word seems to be the only thing in my mind, and why didn’t anyone remind me that “festive” was a word. Gosh darn it. I could have started using that four “holiday spirit”s ago! Well, anyway, I might as well get on with this list, shouldn’t I? My favorite festive (HA!) movies are, first and foremost, Little Women. This is my absolute favorite movie anyway, but especially around this time of year. I love lighting a peppermint candle and snuggling up with a blanket to watch this movie. I can literally quote every single line and I’m totally fine with that. Sisterhood, independence and a visualization of a literary classic are really all I need in life. I didn’t grow up with any sisters so it’s lovely to watch a movie and, for two hours, pretend that I am a March sister. Another great flick that reminds me of my childhood is Miracle on 34th Street. I’m kind of disappointed in myself for not liking the old one, but the new one (well… I mean… 1994 isn’t all that new) is the best for me. I mean, Mara Wilson is just so cute in it with her little lisp and her red coat that I envied so much. It was perfection. By the way, did you know that Mara is a writer/blogger/all around amazing person now? Click her name to go to her blog! As far as holiday RomComs go, you cannot possibly go wrong with The Holiday. I mean, seriously! You have Jude Law, Kate Winslet, Cameron Diaz and Jack Black. I mean, you’re covering all the genres with that cast alone! It’s funny, it’s heart warming, it’s Christmas-y and lovely and the scenery is GORGEOUS. Did anyone else want to live in Iris’ house? What a beautiful little English cottage! The next one is great too, though more on the funny side of Christmas- A Christmas Story! You really can’t beat it if you’re going for holiday humor. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation is alright, I suppose, but this one… This one just has something. And it probably helps that I live in a town that relishes this movie, considering it was filmed here. The Christmas Story House is open every year around the holiday season for people to tour it and there’s a bunch of cool stuff going on this year  for the movie’s 30th anniversary! As a final movie, I will just state here that I consider Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone to be a Christmas favorite of mine. I think the winter scenes in all of the Harry Potter films are just superb.

4+Evening+shot+with+snow+and+fireplace+smokePhoto from: betweennapsontheporch.net

Well… That’s all I’m going to have for you today! I’ll make another Christmas favorites post soon, but hopefully this one could tide you over until then! Post below if you have anything Christmas-y that you want me to talk about next time!

Leave a Reply

